Acting Chairperson for the IRB

Effective January 9, 2018, Mario Dion has stepped down as Chairperson of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada to assume his new position as Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner.

Pending the appointment of an Interim Chairperson, the functions of Chairperson will be performed by Paul Aterman, Deputy Chairperson of the Immigration Appeal Division (IAD) and Acting Deputy Chairperson of the Refugee Appeal Division (RAD), on an acting basis. ​